Convocation 2017


The Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi held its 48th annual convocation for the class of 2016-17, which was presided by the Chief guest, Hon’ble President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind; Hon’ble Minister for Human Resource Development, Sh. Prakash Javadekar; Chairman, BoG, IITD, Sh. Kumar Mangalam Birla; and the Director, Prof. V. Ramgopal Rao.

The convocation ceremony witnessed the participation of over 1900 students from different disciplines–812 undergraduate students, 531 M.Tech. students and 306 PhD scholars. The ceremony had two phases – 1) Oath taking and presentation of Institute medals and awards, 2) awarding of degrees, diplomas and presentation of donor medals, prizes and awards.

The first phase commenced with the national anthem and the Chairman declaring the convocation open. Following which, was the director’s report which highlighted the various strides taken by the institute and leaps of success in the last session. While delivering the convocation address, the chairman, Mr. Birla urged the students to understand the impending age of ‘innovation and disruption’ and take up the challenges that await them.

Later, the Distinguished Alumni–Dr Kiran Bedi, Dr Soumitra Dutta, Sunil Sood and Saurabh Mittal, were presented with their awards and delivered a few words of wisdom for the students. This was followed by the pronouncement of the Award of Degrees, scroll signing by the Chairman, Oath taking and Award of Institute medals and awards.

Once the awards had been given away, the chairman declared the convocation adjourned and everyone was asked to move to Phase two, which was held at various venues and saw the awarding of degrees to all the students.

The recipients of the Institute medals are listed below:

President’s Gold Medal: Prerit Mathur
Director’s Gold Medal: Yoshita Agrawal
Perfect Ten Gold Medal: Lalwala Mitesh Jayeshkumar
Silver Medallists:
Civil Engineering: Rahul Pillania
Chemical Engineering:Anjali Mittal
Computer Science and Engineering: Priyam Agarwal
Electrical Engineering: Rishabh Mittal
Electrical Engineering (Power and Automation): Ashutosh Marwah
Production and Industrial Engineering: Shivam Agarwal
Engineering Physics: Romil Audhkasi
Textile Engineering: Aastha Agarwal
(5yr Integrated Mtech) Mathematics and Computing: Milan Aggarwal
Btech and Mtech in Biochemical Engineering and Biotechnology: Chirag Mittal
Btech and Mtech in Chemical Engineering: Nalin Singla
Btech and Mtech in Computer Science and Engineering: Mohammad Hafeezul Rahman
Btech in Electrical Engineering and Mtech in Information and Communication technology: Anshi

The President’s address can be watched here:…

Covered by: Sumakesh Mishra with inputs from Yash Sheth

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • yes   no


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

− 1 = 1